ANSI logo
PRC flag PRC Information

PRC Conformity Assessment System: Conformity Assessment Used in China

Conformity Assessment System

The Certification & Accreditation of the People's Republic of China (CNCA) coordinates the conformity assessment system as mandated by the Regulations of the People’s Republic of China on Certification and Accreditation, adopted in August of 2003.CNCA administers both the China Compulsory Certification (CCC) System [link to new SP page “Conformity Marks Used in China”] (the national quality and safety mark of China) and the China National Accreditation Service (CNAS) [link to new SP page “Key Organizations – CNAS”] the national accreditation body. Market acceptance and import / export licensing requirements also play a key role in conformity assessment in China.

Examples of conformity assessment schemes used in China include:

Chinese law mandates that all conformity assessment conducted in China be accredited.

CCC System

The China Compulsory Certification (CCC) Mark is the national quality and safety mark accepted in China. The mark is the most common conformity assessment mark in China; it is required for 159 products in 22 categories. CNCA drafts the list of products (the “catalogue”) to be included in the CCC system. If a product is included in the catalogue, it may not be marketed, imported, or sold in China without the mark. For products that are not listed in the catalogue, other types of conformity assessment may be necessary for market acceptance.

Other Mandatory Requirements

Different Chinese ministries and commissions may have additional, mandatory requirements for certain products they oversee (i.e., special equipment, medical devices, food, etc.).

For example, China requires energy-related products to comply with special regulations. Energy standards list requirements related to conventional and renewable products and set quotas regarding energy efficiency. The Ministry of Finance (MIF), Construction, NDRC, AQSIQ and MITT are only a few of the agencies involved in conformity assessment activities for these requirements.

Companies should check with trade organizations and relevant ministries to see if a particular product has additional, conformity assessment requirements.

check mark  View a list of Chinese Ministries

Voluntary / Market Acceptance Requirements

In addition to mandatory conformity assessment activities, many products must comply with voluntary / market acceptance requirements before being received into the Chinese and global markets. For example, products comply with international standards for conformity assessment from the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). 

Although many activities are not yet required by law, virtually all products need to adhere to some type of assessment in order to obtain market acceptance. The China Quality Certification Center (CQC) issues many certifications for voluntary conformity assessment.

Import / Export License Requirements (CIQ)

The China Entry-Exit  Inspection and Quarantine  (CIQ) requires products to meet stringent import / export licensing requirements. At the Chinese border, imported products are first processed by CIQ before proceeding to the CCC Checkpoint at customs. CIQ’s requirements are product-specific.

CIQ’s import requirements are not as extensive as the export requirements. Click here for additional information about import licenses from CIQ.

CIQ has many requirements for potential exports. All products must go through quality testing to ensure that products leaving China are safe and of quality.

CNAS & Accreditation

CNCA supervises the China National Accreditation Service (CNAS) who accreditsall organizations that participate in conformity assessment. Under conformity assessment law, all bodies that issue certifications must be accredited by CNAS, but only a few are designated to issue the CCC system. Many accredited organizations can perform multiple certifications, but only a select few can process CCC applications. The accredited bodies that certify products with the CCC Mark are known as “designated certification bodies” (DCB’s). CNCA designates several, accredited bodies and then issues them certification privileges within a specific product-scope. DCB’s may only certify products that fall under their scope.

Conformity Marks Used in China  next

Follow us on Facebook    Follow us on Twitter    Follow us on LinkedIn
Back to top